Talking head
RailsConf 2015

This presentation, by Pamela O. Vickers, is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution ShareAlike 3.0

Most of the four learning stages - unconscious incompetence, conscious incompetence, conscious competence and unconscious competence - are bridged by acquiring experience. But the gap between unconscious incompetence to conscious competence is where the most discomfort and discouragement occurs. Helping new developers bridge the void ensures a vibrant, accessible community, and having visible members/mentors in each stage encourages newcomers' learning. This talk illustrates (literally!) how to help new colleagues build this bridge and prevent losing them in the what-do-I-even-Google abyss.

Rated: Everyone
Viewed 1,307 times
Tags: There are no tags for this video.